Lughnasadh

August 6, 2010 at 1:22 am (environmental, Goddess, love, magic, medicine, metaphysics, Mythology, paganism, philosophy, political, religion, sex, shamanism, spirituality)

The  wheel turns once again, and so the dark half of the the year is on the rise.  It is the beginning of the harvest, that will culminate at Mabon.  It is the cross-quarter  and the time of the green lights begins.  Every six weeks I stop and observe the passing of the year.  Use the rituals till you need them not…

I am a deeply spiritual person.  I see meaning in everything, I am privledged to live a life of purpose, and I see that the natural world speaks to me.  I have seen fairies and will o wisps, just as I have seen ghosts and demons.  I have heard messages carried on the wings of butterflies.

What do I see now?  I see somethings so beautiful, and then I see somethings so horrible.  I have cried the last two nights.   I cry because I take shot after shot after shot from people who don’t even know me, people I dont know, but see the God within them none the less.  I cry because of the state of the world, of humanity.   I cry that so many are sick, and as a result the Earth paying the price.

Taoism, as well as other traditions espouse the notion that inner peace leads to peace in the outer world.  In other words, being the change you wish to see in the world will eventually lead to the change in the world you wanted to see.  Magic operates on the same principle.  Internal changes lead to external changes.  Small perturbations in the system will eventually lead to big changes in the long run.  Chaos theory.

This is nothing new to me.  However there is something to be said for direct action as well, and so I have been very political, very much the activist.  But I stand at a peculiar time in my life.  As far as I know I have done everything “external” I can to fix the problems I see.  And so as the wheel turns towards to the death of light, and I turn inward, there is a strange peace in the face of my worst fears.

That peace flows from the realization that for the first time in six years, I am free.  I did what I set out to do, and I have done all I can.  People are more mindful of the earth, and even though it will take time, the changes will happen, they have to, otherwise we will cease to be.  I am free to live.  Not only that, living as brightly as I can is a way to change things, by the afore mentioned principle of inner affecting the outer.

So long I have lived in the face of death.  But now, I have done all that is honorable to those whom are honorable, and now I may live in that blessed fire of rebirth.  The rumble that rises from the depths of the earth, the sacred well over flows, the tree of life ignites.  The best thing I can do now is stoke that sacred fire within me, and between the man that I love and cling to that holy font.  Love is my religion, and it is Love that makes the universe turns.

So I say to all of you who may read this, seek the immortality that lies between you and your lover.  As the cold comes burn in that blessed fire.  Get drunk, relive the rites of Dionysis, Odin.  They are older that anything that stands today.  They were given to us for a reason.  As you look into the eyes of death, know that the fire burns in you forever.

Leave a Reply

